< Back to Announcement List

2015 EarthScope National Meeting

Date: 04/10/2015

Dear SCEC Community, 

Below is an invitation regarding the 2015 EarthScope National Meeting.


SCEC Information

Please plan to attend the 2015 EarthScope National Meeting!
The 2015 EarthScope National Meeting will be held at the Stowe Mountain Lodge in beautiful Stowe, Vermont from June 14-17.  Conference highlights include the opportunity to showcase research in the poster sessions, hear firsthand results of pioneering EarthScope studies, discussions on the future after EarthScope, and the option to participate in a pre meeting field trip with local EarthScope scientists. The main meeting program will have five themes as plenary sessions: Dynamics and evolution of the North American continent: crust, lithosphere, and deep mantle; From Groundwater to the Ionosphere; Active tectonics and modern earth processes of North America; Advances in understanding and forecasting hazards; and EarthScope innovations and looking into the future. Early career scientists are strongly encouraged to attend (partial support may be available).

We are finishing the final touches on the National Meeting web site so that should be available in the next few days.  Participants can register for the meeting and field trip and also submit abstracts once it's live.

I made a little video invitation:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVmXVX4b1HM&feature=youtu.be

Please take note of these deadlines (we will send out another email when the website is ready):
Travel Support Scholarship for Early Career Scientists Application Deadline: Monday, April 20
Scholarship Notifications: Friday, May 1
Hotel Reservation Deadline:  Wednesday, May 13
(Reservations will be accepted on a space available basis after the cut-off date)
Registration Deadline:  Friday, May 29
Abstract Deadline: Friday, May 29

Special thanks to the organizers for their efforts:
2015 EarthScope National Meeting Organizing Committee
Julie Elliott, Purdue University
Noel Bartlow, University of California, San Diego (SIO)
Fan Chi Lin, University of Utah
Doug Christensen, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Bob de Groot, University of Southern California (SCEC)
Patrick Fulton, University of California, Santa Cruz
Gareth Funning, University of California, Riverside
Maureen Long, Yale University
Andrew Newman, Georgia Tech
Adam Schultz, Oregon State University
Laura Webb, University of Vermont

EarthScope National Office at Arizona State University
Ramon Arrowsmith
Steve Semken
Ed Garnero
Sarah Robinson
Cindy Dick
Wendy Bohon  
 Click here to unsubscribe from the mailing list.© 2014 | EarthScope.org | All Rights Reserved.

No virus found in this message.
Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
Version: 2015.0.5863 / Virus Database: 4321/9466 - Release Date: 04/06/15