Exciting news! We're transitioning to the Statewide California Earthquake Center. Our new website is under construction, but we'll continue using this website for SCEC business in the meantime. We're also archiving the Southern Center site to preserve its rich history. A new and improved platform is coming soon!
< Back to Announcement List

SSA Accepting Special Session Proposals, 2017 Annual Meeting

Date: 08/24/2016

On behalf of Joy Troyer, SSA:

SSA is now accepting Special Session proposals for the 2017 Annual Meeting, scheduled for 18-20 April in Denver, Colorado.  
October 1 is the deadline to submit session proposals.  
The program committee encourages the seismological community to help make 2017 an extraordinary SSA meeting by organizing sessions related to cutting-edge research, methodology and technology developments. Sessions are encouraged from across the broad fields of earthquake science, geotechnical and earthquake engineering, and seismology. 
Submission Process
Please use the online submission form to submit your proposal no later than 1 October 2016.  Submit session titles, a 1-2 paragraph description and at least one convener for each proposed session.

For questions about proposing a session, contact the program chairs at 2017program@seismosoc.org.  The list of sessions will be published online by November 1, 2016.
More information about the meeting and the submission process can be found on the 2017 SSA Annual Meeting website. 
This year's Program Committee includes:
• Co-Chair Rich Briggs - USGS
• Co-Chair Gavin Hayes - USGS
• Rick Aster - Colorado State, Fort Collins, CO
• Shideh Dashti - Colorado University, Boulder, CO
• Whitney Trainor-Guitton - Colorado School of Mines
• Christine Puskas - UNAVCO, Boulder, CO
• Mark Zellman - Fugro Consultants, Lakewood, CO