Home  /  SCEC Leadership

Core Institutions and Board of Directors

The Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC) is an institutionally based organization governed by a Board of Directors. It recognizes both core institutions, which make a major, sustained commitment to SCEC objectives, and a larger number of participating institutions, which are self-nominated through the involvement of individual scientists or groups in SCEC activities and confirmed by the Board. Membership continues to evolve because SCEC is an open consortium, available to individuals and institutions seeking to collaborate on earthquake science in Southern California. Each core institution appoints one member to the Board. The Board elects two nominees from the participating institutions to serve three-year terms on the Board as members-at-large.

The Board of Directors is the primary decision-making body of SCEC; it meets three times per year to approve the annual science plan, management plan, and budget, and deal with major business items. The Center Director acts as Chair of the Board. The liaison members from the U.S. Geological Survey are non-voting members.

Yehuda Ben-ZionChair
Paul Segall
Graham Kent
Jean-Philippe Avouac

Texas A&M
Patrick Fulton

USGS, Golden
Nico Luco (liaison, non-voting)
Tim Dawson
Peter Bird
USGS, Menlo Park
Ruth Harris (liaison, non-voting)
Bruce Shaw
David Oglesby
USGS, Menlo Park
Steve Hickman (liaison, non-voting)
John Shaw, Vice-Chair
Yuri Fialko
USGS, Pasadena
Kate Scharer (liaison, non-voting)
Tom Herring
Toshiro Tanimoto
Rachel Abercrombie
Tom Rockwell
Emily Brodsky
Rowena Lohman


Science Working Groups and Planning Committee

Standing Disciplinary Committees coordinate the principal data-gathering activities and the disciplinary infrastructure, as well as communal field equipment, experiments, and computational resources. Interdisciplinary research is organized by Focus Groups that are responsible for the development, verification, release, maintenance, and improvement of the SCEC Community Models.

The leaders of the Disciplinary Committees and Interdisciplinary Focus Groups serve on the Planning Committee (PC) for three-year terms. The PC develops the annual Science Collaboration Plan, coordinates activities relevant to SCEC science priorities, and is responsible for generating annual reports for the Center. Leaders of SCEC Special Projects (i.e. projects with funding outside the core science program) also serve on the Planning Committee. They ensure the activities of the special projects are built into the annual science plans. SCEC sponsors Technical Activity Groups (TAGs), which self-organize to develop and test critical methodologies for solving specific problems.

   PC Chairs
Greg BerozaChair
Judi Chester, Vice-Chair

   Disciplinary Committees

   Interdisciplinary Focus Groups

Yehuda Ben-Zion
Jamie Steidl
Nadia Lapusta
Nick Beeler
Jack Baker
Jon Stewart
   Tectonic Geodesy
Gareth Funning
Manoochehr Shirzaei
Kaj Johnson
Bridget Smith-Konter
Liz Hearn
Scott Marshall
   Earthquake Geology
Mike Oskin
Whitney Behr
Max Werner
Ned Field
Michele Cooke
Ramon Arrowsmith
   Computational Science
Eric Dunham
Ricardo Taborda
Domniki Asimaki
Annemarie Baltay
  Special Projects
Christine Goulet
Phil Maechling


Management Team and Staff

The Center Director is the Chief Executive Officer and bears ultimate responsibility for the Center’s programs and budget. The Director acts as PI on all proposals submitted by the Center, retaining final authority to make and implement decisions on Center grants and contracts, and ensuring that funds are properly allocated for various Center activities The Deputy Director chairs the Planning Committee and oversees the development of the annual Science Collaboration Plan. The Associate Director for Administration assists the Center Director in overseeing daily operations, including managing the budget as approved by the Board, filing reports as required by the Board and funding agencies, and keeping the Board, funding agencies, and Center participants current on all Center activities. The Communication, Education, and Outreach (CEO) Program fosters new research opportunities and ensures the delivery of research and educational products to the world at large as useful knowledge for reducing earthquake risk and improving community resilience. The overall framework for data-integration and modeling effort, including the software standards for data structures and model interfaces, is responsibility of the Associate Director for Information Technology.

    Yehuda Ben-Zion
Acting Director*
Greg Beroza
*Executive Committee of the Center, also includes the Vice-Chairs of the Board & Planning Committee
Comm, Educ, & Outreach Research Computing Applied Science Science Operations
Mark Benthien
Associate Director*
Phil Maechling
Associate Director*
Christine Goulet
Exec Sci Director*
Tran Huynh
Associate Director*
Jason Ballmann
Communications Manager
Scott Callaghan
Computer Scientist
Kevin Milner
Computer Scientist
Deborah Gormley
Business Operations Specialist
John Marquis
Web Manager for CEO
Bill Savran
Research Programmer
Xiaofeng Meng
Postdoctoral Scholar
Edric Pauk
Research Programmer
Gabriela Noriega
Manager of ELCA
Fabio Silva
Computer Scientist
Ossian O'Reilly
Postdoctoral Scholar
Miguel Mendez
Operations Assistant
Sharon Sandow
Asst Dir of Strategic Partnerships for CEO
Mei-Hui Su
Research Programmer
    John Yu
Computing Services


Advisory Council

An elected external Advisory Council (AC) serves as an experienced advisory body to the Center. The Council reports to the Center through its Chair. The AC comprises a diverse membership representing all aspects of Center activities, including basic and applied earthquake research and related technical disciplines (e.g., earthquake engineering, risk management, and information technology), formal and informal education, and public outreach. Members of the AC are drawn from academia, government, and the private sector; they are elected by the Board for three-year terms and may be re-elected. The Council meets annually to review Center programs and plans and prepares a report for the Center. The AC Chair is apprised on all major actions of the Center. Council members are informed of Center activities and invited to participate in all appropriate Center functions. Council reports are made available to NSF, the USGS, and other funding agencies.

M. Meghan Miller, Chair
Louise Kellogg
U of California Davis
Tom O'Rourke
Cornell University
Tim Sellnow
U of Central Florida
Rick Aster
Colorado State
Yann Klinger
Susan Owen
Heidi Tremayne
Susan Beck
University of Arizona
Warner Marzocchi
Ellen Rathje
U of Texas


Communication, Education, and Outreach Planning Committee

The Communication, Education, and Outreach Planning Committee (CEO PC) comprises of stakeholders representing CEO program focus areas (public education and preparedness; K-14 education initiative; experiential learning and career advancement; and the implementation interface). The CEO PC provides guidance for CEO programs, reviews reports and evaluations, and identifies synergies with other parts of SCEC and external organizations.

Tim Sellnow, UCF
Timothy Dawson, CGS
Implementation Interface
Sally McGill, CSUSB
Experiential Learning & Career Advancement
Danielle Sumy, IRIS
K-14 Education

Kate Long, CalOES
Public Education & Preparedness

Ricardo Taborda, Univ of Colombia
Implementation Interface