Exciting news! We're transitioning to the Statewide California Earthquake Center. Our new website is under construction, but we'll continue using this website for SCEC business in the meantime. We're also archiving the Southern Center site to preserve its rich history. A new and improved platform is coming soon!

The 2022 Aotearoa New Zealand National Seismic Hazard Model: Process, Overview, and Results

Matthew C. Gerstenberger, Sanjay S. Bora, Brendon A. Bradley, Christopher DiCaprio, Anna E. Kaiser, Elena F. Manea, Andy Nicol, Chris Rollins, Mark Stirling, Kiran Kumar S. Thingbaijam, Russ J. Van Dissen, Elizabeth R. Abbott, Gail M. Atkinson, Chris Chamberlain, Annemarie Christophersen, Kate Clark, Genevieve L. Coffey, Chris A. de la Torre, Susan Ellis, Jeff Fraser, Kenny Graham, John Griffin, Ian Hamling, Matt P. Hill, A Howell, Anne Hulsey, Jessie Hutchinson, Pablo C. Iturrieta, Kaj M. Johnson, V. Oakley Jurgens, Rachel Kirkman, Robert M. Langridge, Robin L. Lee, Nicola J. Litchfield, Jeremy L. Maurer, Kevin R. Milner, Sepi Rastin, Mark S. Rattenbury, David A. Rhoades, John Ristau, Danijel Schorlemmer, Hannu Seebeck, Bruce E. Shaw, Peter J. Stafford, Andrew C. Stolte, John Townend, Pilar Villamor, Laura M. Wallace, Graeme Weatherill, Charles A. Williams, & Liam M. Wotherspoon

Published December 21, 2023, SCEC Contribution #13422

The 2022 revision of Aotearoa New Zealand National Seismic Hazard Model (NZ NSHM 2022) has involved significant revision of all datasets and model components. In this article, we present a subset of many results from the model as well as an overview of the governance, scientific, and review processes followed by the NZ NSHM team. The calculated hazard from the NZ NSHM 2022 has increased for most of New Zealand when compared with the pre- vious models. The NZ NSHM 2022 models and results are available online.

Gerstenberger, M. C., Bora, S. S., Bradley, B. A., DiCaprio, C., Kaiser, A. E., Manea, E. F., Nicol, A., Rollins, C., Stirling, M., Thingbaijam, K. S., Van Dissen, R. J., Abbott, E. R., Atkinson, G. M., Chamberlain, C., Christophersen, A., Clark, K., Coffey, G. L., de la Torre, C. A., Ellis, S., Fraser, J., Graham, K., Griffin, J., Hamling, I., Hill, M. P., Howell, A., Hulsey, A., Hutchinson, J., Iturrieta, P. C., Johnson, K. M., Jurgens, V., Kirkman, R., Langridge, R. M., Lee, R. L., Litchfield, N. J., Maurer, J. L., Milner, K. R., Rastin, S., Rattenbury, M. S., Rhoades, D. A., Ristau, J., Schorlemmer, D., Seebeck, H., Shaw, B. E., Stafford, P. J., Stolte, A. C., Townend, J., Villamor, P., Wallace, L. M., Weatherill, G., Williams, C. A., & Wotherspoon, L. M. (2023). The 2022 Aotearoa New Zealand National Seismic Hazard Model: Process, Overview, and Results. Bulletin of the Seismological Society of America, 114(1), 7-36. doi: 10.1785/0120230182.